Faculty Awards

  • 5/27/15 – Professor Galya Diment has been awarded the Hanauer Distinguished Professorship; her term will start September 1. The Hanauer Professor, a distinguished faculty member whose research and teaching addresses issues pertinent to Western Civilization, will teach one class annually on a topic involving Western Civilization in its various aspects and participate in the life of the Honors Program, including serving on the Honors Faculty Council and meeting regularly with students.
  • The Society of Slovene Literary Translators has named UW affiliate professor and Slavic librarian Michael Biggins as the recipient of its annual Janko Lavrin Prize, awarded each year for lifetime distinguished contributions to furthering Slovene literature abroad.  Biggins is the translator of more than fifteen major, book-length works of 20th– and 21st-century Slovene literature. Congratulations, Professor Biggins!
  • Senior Lecturer Bojan Belić has received the 2014 AATSEEL Award for Excellence in Post-Secondary Teaching.  This award honors excellence in the teaching of Slavic and East European languages at the post-secondary level. It further recognizes promotion of Slavic languages, literatures, and culture at the undergraduate or graduate level; and rewards those who best support and inspire their students.
  • REECAS alumnus Taylor Zajicek was awarded the ASEEES Graduate Student Essay Prize for an outstanding essay by a graduate student in Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies for his paper “Modern Friendship: The ‘New Turkey’ and Soviet Cultural Diplomacy, 1933-1934”. Congratulations, Taylor!