Skip to main content

Campbell and Young to serve as UW’s Council Reps for UArctic

Headshots of Elena Campbell and Jason Young

January 18, 2023

Elena Campbell, Department of History and Jason Young, Information School will serve as the University’s Council Representatives for University of the Arctic.

The University of Washington has been an institutional member of University of the Arctic since 2008. Since that time Center managing director Nadine Fabbi has largely served in the role of UW Council Representative with Elena Campbell joining her in 2020. Beginning this academic year, the Council Representatives will serve a staggered four-year term: Elena Campbell’s current term will run through the 2023-24 academic year; Jason Young’s terms begins in the 2022 academic year and will continue through the 2025-26 academic year.

Membership in UArctic enables University of Washington students to enroll in UArctic online circumpolar studies courses at no cost. Membership also opens opportunities for UW faculty and researchers to engage in one of dozens of Thematic Networks.

Elena Campbell is an associate professor in the Department of History and the Walker Family Endowed Professor in History. Elena teaches one of the electives for the minor in Arctic Studies, HSTCMP 220/ARCTIC 220: At the Top of the World: Arctic Histories. Jason Young is a Senior Research Scientist and Affiliate Assistant Professor in the Information School. Jason teaches the core social sciences course for the minor in Arctic Studies ARCTIC 200: Indigenous Diplomacies and International Relations in the Arctic.

University of the Arctic is a network of universities, colleges, research institutes and other organizations including Indigenous organization, concerned with education and research in and about the North. UArctic was officially launched in Rovaniemi, Finland in 2001. UArctic’s International Secretariat has been hosted by the University of Lapland in Rovaniemi, Finland since its launch.