Skip to main content

Highlight on CGS Languages: Hindi

June 15, 2016

CGS Language Highlight: Hindi

Hindi is one of seventeen unique languages supported by the Center for Global Studies. Check out the great video on Hindi courses at the University created by the UW Asian Languages and Literature department:

“Hindi, a member of the Indo-Aryan branch of the Indo-European family of languages, is, by any standard, one of the major languages of the world. With upwards of 300 million native speakers, it ranks between the third and fifth among the world’s languages in terms of the number of native speakers. Along with English, Hindi is one of the two officially recognized national languages of India. It has significant concentrations of speakers in the Indian states of Uttar Pradesh, Uttaranchal, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Haryana, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, and Delhi. Distinctive varieties of Hindi are found in other regions of India outside of the so-called “Hindi belt,” including those spoken in Mumbai, Calcutta, and Hyderabad. Varieties of Hindi are spoken by millions of people in South Asia as a second or subsequent language. Overseas varieties of Hindi are spoken in many countries, including Guyana, Suriname, Trinidad, Fiji, Mauritius, and South Africa. Hindi, along with its sister language Urdu, is used as a lingua franca in emigrant South Asian communities throughout the world.” Learn more about Hindi and the programs offered at UW here:

Language Support for LCTLs

The Center for Global Studies is proud to support the teaching and learning of less commonly taught languages (LCTLs) at the University of Washington and throughout the community. “LCTL” most frequently encompasses all languages except for English, French, German, and Spanish. At the University of Washington, twenty-three U.S. Department of Education priority LCTLs are taught; the Jackson School and CGS has programs with seventeen.

Languages supported by CGS include: Arabic, Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian, Chinese, Hebrew, Hindi, Indonesian, Kazakh, Korean, Persian, Portuguese, Russian, Swahili, Tagolog, Thai, Turkish, Uighur, and Vietnamese