Bulletins

Conferences and CFP bulletin

“Southeast Asia and Australia: Literary and Cultural Connections” – Collaboration between Southeast Asia Forum and Australasian Literary Studies.
Explores literary-cultural connections between Southeast Asia and Australia in different genres, media, and languages
Submit a 250-word abstract to Weihsin Gui (weihsing@ucr.edu) and Brenda Machosky (machosky@hawaii.edu) by Mar. 15.


“Transmedia Engagement and the Performance of Place in Southeast Asia”
How does transmedia storytelling transform the performance of locality and subjectivity in Southeast Asia? What are the implications of such performances for multidirectional critique? Submit 300 word abstract and short bio to Brian Bernards(bernards@usc.edu) by Mar. 15.


“Settler Colonialism in Southeast Asia”
How do texts from Southeast Asia illuminate the ways in which place, power, and politics shape settler colonialism in the region? Comparative approaches to genres, contexts, languages, and time periods welcome. Submit 300-word abstract and bio to Sheela Jane Menon (menons@dickinson.edu) by Mar. 15.


“Southeast Asia and the Oceanic”
How are Southeast Asian literary and cultural texts conceptualized in the region’s multiple oceanic and maritime contexts? What might other critical confluences like Nusantara, Nanyang, Indian Ocean and Transpacific studies offer? 250-word abstract, 100-word bio to Joanne Leow, U of Saskatchewan (joanne.leow@usask.ca); Nazry Bahrawi, Singapore U of Tech. and Design (nazry_bahrawi@sutd.edu.sg) by Mar. 15.


11th “Engaging with Vietnam Conference”
“Vietnam in Europe, Europe in Vietnam: Identity, Transnationality, and Mobility of People, Ideas, and Practices across Time and Space”
Date: July 15-16 2019
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Abstracts due by April 5, 2019


Emerging Voices in Filipino and Philippine Studies
University of Hawai’i at Manoa, November 6, 2019
Panel and proposals due  by April 18, 2019


Southeast Asian travelogues and global Asia
Date: January 22, 2019 to May 15, 2019
Location: Germany


Special Issue of Religions: Reframing Islam in Southeast Asia
Deadline for manuscript submissions: August 15th, 2019