Skip to main content

Scholarships for Foreign Language Study

October 6, 2016

students abroadApplications are now available for Critical Language Scholarships, U.S. Department of State online at:
Applications will be due November 16, 2016 by 8:00 pm EST.  The Program is a fully-funded overseas intensive language and cultural immersion program for American undergraduate and graduate students.  The fourteen CLS languages are: Arabic, Azerbaijani, Bangla, Chinese, Hindi, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean, Persian, Punjabi, Russian, Swahili, Turkish, and Urdu. Participants in the CLS Program are not required to have any experience studying critical languages for most of the fourteen languages. Arabic, Chinese, Persian, Russian, and Japanese institutes have language prerequisites, which can be found on the CLS website.

More information at:

Comparative Religion Staff