FLAS Fellowships

Foreign Language and Area Studies (FLAS) Fellowships

FLAS Fellowships support undergraduate, graduate and professional students in acquiring modern foreign languages and area or international studies competencies.   Students from all UW departments and professional schools are encouraged to apply. FLAS Fellowships are available to U.S. citizens and permanent residents. For more information, see the Jackson School’s FLAS Page.

Applicants should carefully read all FLAS guidelines, including Center-specific guidelines, before applying.

The FLAS Fellowship application for Academic Year 2018-19 and Summer 2018 is now closed.

Middle East Center Guidelines


Arabic, Hebrew, Persian, Turkish

FLAS Information

Applicants proposing independent study to satisfy the area and/or language coursework requirements of the FLAS award must describe the content of the proposed course(s). It is strongly advised that students obtain relevant UW faculty commitment now for any proposed independent study. Receipt of a FLAS award does not obligate faculty to offer independent study.

Applicants should note carefully that academic-year awards are comprehensive awards that encompass both area and language training, while summer awards are for intensive language study only. For that reason, the Middle East Center considers summer term the most appropriate time for foreign study, and in general ranks foreign study in the academic year a lower priority.

Applicants whose area of interest is Central Asia (i.e., Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan) should direct their applications to the Ellison Center for Russian, East European, and Central Asian Studies.

A student may not receive more than two academic-year awards. However, there are no restrictions on the number of summer awards a student may receive.