Julie Gralow

Professor, Medicine/Oncology
Julie Gralow


Julie Gralow, MD

Jill Bennett Endowed Professor of Breast Cancer, University of Washington
Director, Breast Medical Oncology, Seattle Cancer Care Alliance
Clinical Research Division, Member, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Dr. Julie Gralow is the Jill Bennett Endowed Professor of Breast Cancer and Director of Breast Medical Oncology at the University of Washington (UW)/Seattle Cancer Care Alliance. She is a Member of the Clinical Research Division of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center (FHCRC). She is PI for the clinical core of the FHCRC/UW Breast Cancer Specialized Program of Research Excellence (SPORE) grant. She has served as an alternate member of the NCI Breast Cancer Steering Committee since its inception, and co-chaired an NCI State of the Science conference on preoperative therapy in breast cancer in 2007. She will serve as a member of the Leadership Team of the FHCRC’s application to NCI as a Network Lead Academic Participating Site (LAPS) in the National Clinical Trials Network. Dr. Gralow is the founder of the Women’s Empowerment Cancer Advocacy Network (WE CAN) which grew out of her work in cancer survivorship in Ukraine in the 1990s. WE CAN has been supporting cancer advocacy and education in Eastern Europe and Central Asia for over a decade. She is also co-secretariat for the Global Task Force on Expanded Access to Cancer Care and Control in Developing Countries.

Dr. Gralow has been a member of the American Society of Clinical Oncology since 1995 and has received awards for her research, chaired several committees, and has participated in many more expert panels looking at various aspects of breast cancer treatment and research. An author of more than 70 scholarly articles and 85 published abstracts, Dr. Gralow is a member of the editorial boards of several national publications and serves as a delegate to the University of Washington Center for Women and Democracy advising the group on its missions to Cuba, the Baltics, South Africa, Ukraine, and China.