Middle East Center Affiliated Faculty 


Khalid A. Ahmed, B.A. Sana'a University (1994), Lecturer, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; Arabic pedagogy, curriculum development, listening skills acquisition, formative assessment. Email: khalid4@uw.edu

Mika Ahuvia, Ph.D. Princeton (2014), Assistant Professor, Jackson School of International Studies; Jewish history, rabbinic literature, Hebrew bible, ancient magic, New Testament and early Christianity, Greco-Roman archaeology, hymnography. (Available beginning fall term 2014). Email: mahuvia@uw.edu

Samad Alavi, Ph.D. UC-Berkeley (2013), Assistant Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; Persian language and literature. Email: salavi@uw.edu

Farhad Atai, Ph.D. UC-Berkeley (1992), Visiting Professor (AY 2014-15), Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; politics of Iran, Central Asia, and the Caucasus; political economy of oil, Iranian foreign policy, socio-political history of Central Asia

Walter Andrews, Ph.D. Michigan (1970), Research Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; Turkish and Ottoman language and literature. Email: walter@u.washington.edu 

Jere L. Bacharach, Ph.D. Michigan (1967), Professor Emeritus, History;  history of the Islamic Middle East; numismatics of the Islamic world. Email: jere@u.washington.edu 

Maryam Badiee, Ph.D. University of Washington, Lecturer, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; Persian language and literature. Email: mb52@uw.edu

Susan Benson, M.A. Utah (1983); Lecturer, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; Arabic and Persian. Email: susanb9@u.washington.edu

Arbella Bet-Shlimon, Ph.D. Harvard (2012), Assistant Professor, History; modern Middle East history, Iraq, the Gulf, urban history, and oil in the Middle East. Email: shlimon@uw.edu

Rene Bravmann, Ph.D. Indiana (1971), Professor, Art History; tribal art, response to Islamization.

Robert Burrowes, Ph.D. Princeton (1967), Professor Emeritus, Jackson School of International Studies; Yemen, politics of the Middle East. Email: burrowes@uw.edu

Daniel Chirot, Ph.D. Columbia (1973), Herbert J. Ellison Professor or Russian & Eurasian Studies, Sociology and International Studies; ethnic conflict; American policy and the new international economic order, tyranny. Email: chirot@u.washington.edu  

Ilse D. Cirtautas, Ph.D. Hamburg (1958), Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; Turkic languages and literature. Email: icirt@u.washington.edu 

Angela Close, Ph.D. Cambridge (1975), Associate Professor, Anthropology; archaeology, lithic analysis, paleolithic study of North Africa, Europe. Email: aeclose@u.washington.edu 

Kristian Coates Ulrichsen, Ph.D. Cambridge (2005), Lecturer, Jackson School of International Studies; politics of the Middle East, the Gulf States, Kuwait and the knowledge economy.

Karam Dana, Ph.D. University of Washington (2009), Assistant Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences, UW-Bothell; Comparative politics of the Middle East; state-society relations; Islam and Muslims in the West; Arab and Muslim public opinion; Palestinian
society; elite politics. Email: kdana@uwb.edu

Terri DeYoung, Ph.D. California-Berkeley (1988), Associate Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; Arabic language and literature. Email: tdeyoung@u.washington.edu 

Hussein M. Elkhafaifi, Ph.D. Utah (1985), Associate Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic grammatical tradition, foreign language acquisition pedagogy and methodology, language policy and language planning. Email: hme3@u.washington.edu

Ellis Goldberg, Ph.D. California-Berkeley (1983), Professor, Political Science, Director Middle East Center; politics and political theory of the Middle East. Email: goldberg@u.washington.edu 

Nicholas Heer, Ph.D. Princeton (1965), Professor Emeritus, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; Arabic language and literature, Islamic theology and philosophy. Email: heer@u.washington.edu 

Philip Howard, Ph.D. Northwestern (2002), Associate Professor, Communications; information technology and political Islam. Email: pnhoward@uw.edu

Martin Jaffee, Ph.D. Brown (1980), Professor Emeritus, Jackson School; Judaism in late antiquity. Email: jaffee@u.washington.edu 

Christopher Jones, Ph.D. Rutgers University (1975), Associate Professor, Jackson School; international arms control, US security policy, non-proliferation studies. Email: cdjones@uw.edu

Ellen Kaisse, Ph.D. Harvard (1977), Associate Professor, Linguistics; phonology, historical linguistics, ancient and modern Greek. Email: kaisse@u.washington.edu 

Anna Kartsonis, Ph.D. New York University (1982), Professor Emeritus, Art History; Medieval, Early Christian, and Byzantine art. Email: kartsoni@u.washington.edu 

Resat Kasaba, Ph.D. State University of New York, Binghamton (1985), Professor, Jackson School and Sociology; political economy of the world system and the Middle East. Email: kasaba@u.washington.edu 

Turan Kayaoglu, Ph.D. University of Washington (2005), Assistant Professor Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences UW-Tacoma; Islamic networks, international human rights. Email: turan@uw.edu

Hadar Khazzam-Horovitz. Ph.D. University of Washington (2012), lecturer, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; modern Hebrew language and culture, Israeli biomedical regimes, multicultural conflict. Email: 

Khodadad (Khodi) Kaviani, Ph.D. University of Washington (2003), Associate Faculty, College of Education; multicultural education, teaching about the Middle East at the K-12 level. Email: khodi@u.washington.edu

Elizabeth Kier, Ph.D. Cornell University (1992), Associate Professor, Political Science; war, political violence and the state, international security, civil-military relations. Email: ekier@uw.edu

Selim Kuru, Ph.D. Indiana (2000), Associate Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization, Ottoman and Turkish language and literature. Email: selims@u.washington.edu 

Clark Lombardi, Ph.D. Columbia University (2001); J.D. Columbia University (1998), Associate Professor, School of Law; Islamic law, constitutional law, constitutionalization of Islamic law in Muslim countries and impact on legal development. Email: lombardi@u.washington.edu

James D. Long, Ph.D. University of California-San Diego (2012); Assistant Professor, Political Science; voting behavior, election fraud and democracy, election violence, insurgency, insurgency, state-building, information communication technology and corruption monitoring. Email: jdlong@uw.edu

Frederick (Rick) Lorenz, JD Marquette Law School (1971); Senior Lecturer, Jackson School of International Studies; international law and peacekeeping. Email: lorenz@u.washington.edu

Pierre MacKay, Ph.D. California-Berkeley (1964); Professor Emeritus, Classics and Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; Greek literature, post classical and Byzantine Greek literature. Email: mackay@cs.washington.edu 

Brian McLaren, Ph.D. MIT (2001), Professor, Architecture; history and theory of architecture, architecture and culture during the period of Italian colonization of North Africa. Email: bmclaren@u.washington.edu

Victor Mendaldo, Ph.D. Stanford University (2009); Assistant Professor, Political Science; political economy, comparative politics. Email: vmendaldo@uw.edu

Joel Migdal, Ph.D. Harvard (1972), Robert F. Philip Professor of International Studies, Jackson School; Third World development, the Middle East, Arab-Israeli conflict. Email: migdal@u.washington.edu 

Devin Naar, Ph.D. Stanford (2011), Assistant Professor, Jackson School and History; Jews of the Ottoman Empire. Email: denaar@uw.edu

Karine Nahon, Ph.D. Tel Aviv University (2004), Associate Professor; School of Information; Internet and the Middle East, global information systems. Email: karineb@u.washington.edu

Nader Nazemi, Ph.D. University of Washington (1994), Lecturer, Middle East Studies; international relations of the Middle East. Email: nnazemi@cascadia.edu

Scott Noegel, Ph.D. Cornell (1994), Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Literature and Jackson School; Hebrew Bible, Assyriology and Medieval Hebrew Poetics. Email: snoegel@u.washington.edu 

Arzoo Osanloo, Ph.D. Stanford (2002), Associate Professor, Law, Justice & Society Program and Anthropology; gender and Islam, human rights and the Islamic state. Email: aosanloo@u.washington.edu

Michael Perez, Ph.D. Michigan (2010), Lecturer, Anthropology; anthropology of the Middle East, human rights, nationalism. Email: mvperez@uw.edu

Noam Pianko, Ph.D. Yale (2004), Associate Professor, Jackson School of International Studies; Israel, modern Jewish thought, theories of religion in an international context. Email: npianko@uw.edu

Cabeiri DeBergh Robinson, Ph.D. Cornell (2003), Assistant Professor, Jackson School of International Studies; political Islam, India, Pakistan, human rights. Email: cdr33@u.washington.edu

Tovi Romano, M.A. Seattle Pacific University (2010), Lecturer, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; modern Hebrew. Email: romant@uw.edu

Haideh Salehi-Esfahani, Ph.D. Pennsylvania (1985), Senior Lecturer, Economics; international economics, development economics. Email: haideh@u.washington.edu

Samini Naghmeh, Ph.D. University of Tehran, Visiting Professor AY 2014-15, School of Drama; Iranian playwright, Iranian theater and cinema. Email: nsamini@u.washington.edu 

Philip Schuyler, Ph.D. University of Washington (1979), Professor Emeritus, Ethnomusicology; music of the Middle East.  Email: pds2@u.washington.edu

Shahrzad Shams, M.A. California State University-Fullerton (1985), Lecturer, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; modern Persian. Email: shshams@uw.edu

Naomi Sokoloff, Ph.D. Princeton (1980), Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; modern Hebrew language and literature. Email: naosok@u.washington.edu

Joel Walker, Ph.D. Princeton (1998), Associate Professor, History; Late Antiquity, pre-Islamic Near East; Syriac Christianity; Jerusalem. Email: jwalker@u.washington.edu 

Dan Waugh, Ph.D. Yale (1972), Professor Emeritus, History and Jackson School; medieval Russia, Central Asia, Ottoman history. Email: dwaugh@u.washington.edu 

James Wellman, Ph.D. Chicago (1995), Associate Professor, Jackson School of International Studies; comparative religion. Email: jwellman@uw.edu

Michael Williams, Ph.D. Harvard (1977), Professor, Jackson School and Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; early Christianity and religions of antiquity. Email: maw@u.washington.edu 

Melike Yucel, M.A. Portland State University (2011), Lecturer, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; elementary and intermediate Turkish language, foreign language pedagogy. Email: yucelm@uw.edu

Farhat Ziadeh, Barrister-at-Law University of London (1946), Professor Emeritus, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; Arabic language and literature, Islamic institutions. Email: farhat@u.washington.edu 

Hamza Zafer, Ph.D. Cornell (2013), Assistant Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization; early Islamic period, textural studies, Islamics, Qur'an. Email: hmzafer@uw.edu

Craig Zumbrunnen, Ph.D. California-Berkeley (1973), Professor, Geography; Central Asian geography, demographics, urbanization. Email: craigzb@u.washington.edu 

Return to Top

The Middle East Center
University of Washington
225 Thomson Hall
Box 353650
Seattle, WA 98195
(206) 543-4227 phone
(206) 685-0668 fax
mecuw@u.washington.edu

Ellis Goldberg, Director
goldberg@uw.edu

Felicia Hecker, Associate Director
fhecker@uw.edu