Faculty

Below is a list of faculty associated with the Center for Human Rights. Clicking the individual's name will take you to his/her webpage. Faculty members with an asterisk next to their names are members of the Center's Steering Committee.

 


 

A-F   |   G-L   |   M-P   |   S-W

 


Director

*Angelina Snodgrass Godoy
Associate Professor, Jackson School of Intl Studies; Law, Societies, & Justice            Helen H. Jackson Chair in Human Rights
agodoy@u.washington.edu


Faculty Associates                         

Gunnar Almgren
Director, PhD Program in Social Welfare
Associate Professor of Social Work and Social Welfare
The School of Social Work
mukboy@u.washington.edu

James A. Banks
Kerry and Linda Killinger Endowed Chair in Diversity Studies and Director
Center for Multicultural Education
Research Interests: Multicultural Education in the U. S. and in other nations; Diversity and citizenship education in multicultural nation-states
jbanks@uw.edu

David Barash
Professor, Psychology
dpbarash@u.washington.edu

Gad Barzilai
Professor of International Studies, Law & Political Science
Jackson School of International Studies
Comparative Law and Society Studies Center
Law, Societies and Justice Program
gbarzil@u.washington.edu

*Katherine Beckett
Professor, Department of Sociology
Law, Societies & Justice Program
kbeckett@u.washington.edu

Michael Blake
Associate Professor of Philosophy and Public Affairs
Research interests: Immigration, international justice, and multiculturalism.
miblake@u.washington.edu

Sharan E. Brown
Research Professor, College of Education
Adjunct Research Professor, School of Law
Acting Director, Disability Studies Program
Research Interests: Children's Rights and legal development in Southeast
Asia and National and International Disability Rights
sbrown@u.washington.edu

Daniel Chirot
Job and Gertrud Tamaki Professor of International Studies
Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies
chirot@u.washington.edu

Rachel Cichowski
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science and the Law, Societies and Justice Program
rcichows@u.washington.edu

Tom Cobb
Senior Lecturer, Law
tomcobb@uw.edu

Robert Crawford
Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
UW Tacoma Campus
crawford@u.washington.edu

*Sara Curran
Associate Professor, Evans School
Director, International Studies & Associate Director, CSDE, Jackson School
scurran@u.washington.edu

*Michael Forman
Associate Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences, UW Tacoma Campus
forman@u.washington.edu

Batya Friedman
Professor, The Information School
Director, Value Sensitive Design Research Lab
Adjunct Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Adjunct Professor, Department of Human-Centered Design and Engineering
batya@uw.edu
Voices from the Rwanda Tribunal Project
Value Sensitive Design Research Lab

Kathie Friedman
Associate Professor, Jackson School of International Studies
friedman@u.washington.edu
Research interests: U.S. refugee protection and resettlement policy; Bosnian
refugee families in the US.; comparative refugee diasporas

Maria Elena Garcia
Comparative History of Ideas/Jackson School of International Studies
Director, Clowes Center for the Study of Conflict and Dialogue
meg71@u.washington.edu

Stephen M. Gardiner
Associate Professor
Department of Philosophy and Program on Values in Society
smgard@u.washington.edu

Christoph Giebel
Associate Professor, School of International Studies & Dept. of History
giebel@u.washington.edu
Research Interests:
Viet Nam
Southeast Asia
Human Rights in Asia
Imperialism, War, and Anti-Colonialism

Stephen Gloyd, MD, MPH
Professor, Departments of Global Health and Health Services
Schools of Public Health and Medicine
gloyd@u.washington.edu

Sara Goering
Assistant Professor, Philosophy
sgoering@u.washington.edu
Research interests: medical ethics, disability studies, feminist philosophy

Steve Herbert
Professor, Department of Geography
Law, Societies and Justice Program
skherb@u.washington.edu

Danny Hoffman
Assistant Professor
Department of Anthropology
djh13@u.washington.edu

*Judith Howard
Professor, Sociology
Divisional Dean of Social Sciences, College of Arts & Sciences
jhoward@u.washington.edu

Lucy Jarosz
Associate Professor
Department of Geography
jarosz@u.washington.edu

Resat Kasaba
Henry M. Jackson Professor in International Studies
Jackson School of International Studies
kasaba@u.washington.edu

Turan Kayaoglu
Assistant Professor of International Relations
Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
turan@u.washington.edu

Emily Keller
Political Science and Public Affairs Librarian
UW Libraries
emkeller@uw.edu

Maureen Kelley, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics
University of Washington School of Medicine
Scholar, Treuman Katz Center for Pediatric Bioethics
Seattle Children's Hospital & Research Institute
mckelley@u.washington.edu
Research interests: Ethical issues in maternal and child global health, with special focus on orphans and other children without families.

*Bruce Kochis
Senior Lecturer, Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell Campus
bkochis@u.washington.edu

Ron Krabill
Associate Professor
Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell
Department of Communication, UW Seattle
RKrabill@uwb.edu

Dennis Lang
Associate Director, Disability Studies
University of Washington
dlang@u.washington.edu

Clark B. Lombardi, J.D., Ph.D
Associate Professor of Law
University of Washington School of Law
lombardi@u.washington.edu

Frederick Michael Lorenz JD, LLM
Senior Lecturer, Jackson School of International Studies
lorenz@u.washington.edu
Research Interests:
International Humanitarian Law (SISME420)
War Crimes and the Law of Armed Conflict
International Criminal Court
International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia
Challenges of International Justice: Exploration Seminar in August 2010 at
the Irish Centre for Human Rights and in The Hague

George I. Lovell
Associate Professor, Political Science
glovell@u.washington.edu

José Antonio Lucero
Jackson School of International Studies/Latin American Studies
Research interests: Indigenous politics, social movements, and representation in Ecuador, Bolivia, and Peru
jal26@u.washington.edu

*Jamie Mayerfeld
Associate Professor, Political Science
jasonm@u.washington.edu
Jamie Mayerfeld’s current research is concerned with the constitutional devices, both domestic and transnational, best suited to protect human rights. His recent articles have addressed the International Criminal Court, the European human rights regime, justifications of international human rights law and international criminal law, the origins of the U.S. torture policy, and the absolute moral prohibition of torture.

*Michael McCann
Professor, Political Science
mwmccann@u.washington.edu

Paul Steven Miller
Henry M. Jackson Professor of Law
University of Washington School of Law
psmiller@u.washington.edu
SSRN Page: http://ssrn.com/author=602778

Katharyne Mitchell
Professor and Chair, Department of Geography
kmitch@u.washington.edu

Adam D. Moore
Associate Professor of Philsophy, Department of Philosophy
Information School
Program on Values
moore2@u.washington.edu

Naomi Murakawa
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science
murakawa@u.washington.edu

Amos Nascimento
Asssistant Professor,
Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences, UW Tacoma Campus
anascim@u.washington.edu

*Joel Ngugi
Assistant Professor, Law
Chair, African Studies Program
jngugi@u.washington.edu
Research interests: Law, Development and Wealth allocation; human rights; indigenous rights; and human rights and democratic governance.

Arzoo Osanloo, J.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Law, Societies & Justice Program
Research interests: Human Rights, Women's Rights, Islamic law, Refugees and Iran
aosanloo@u.washington.edu

*Glenda Pearson
Head, Microforms/Newspapers Section, UW Libraries
pearson@u.washington.edu

Janet Primomo, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
University of Washington, Tacoma
jprimomo@u.washington.edu

Beth E. Rivin, M.D., M.P.H.
Director, Global Health and Justice Project
Research Associate Professor, Law
Adjunct, Global Health and Bioethics and Humanities
brivin@u.washington.edu
Research Interests:
Global Health and Human Rights
Global Bioethics
Human Rights Analysis of Health Policy
Practical Applications and Implementation of The Right to Health in Low and
Middle Income Countries
Local Implementation of International Human Rights Law

Cabeiri Robinson
Assistant Professor of International Studies and South Asia Studies
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Anthropology
cdr33@u.washington.edu
Research interests: Political movements in contemporary Muslim societies, armed conflict and refugee studies, human rights and humanitarian interventions, and post-colonial South Asia (especially Pakistan and the Kashmir region).

Laurie J. Sears
Professor of History
Director and Chair, Southeast Asia Center
Jackson School of International Studies
lsears@uw.edu

Cynthia Steele
Professor of Comparative Literature
Chair, Department of Comparative Literature
cynthias@u.washington.edu

Stuart Streichler
Adjunct Professor, Seattle University School of Law
Lecturer, Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences, UW Bothell Campus
sstreich@u.washington.edu

*William Talbott
Professor, Philosophy
wtalbott@u.washington.edu
William J. Talbott is Professor of Philosophy, Associate Faculty Member of the Program on Values in Society, and Affiliated Faculty Member in the Law, Societies, and Justice Program. He is the author of two books in the philosophy of human rights, Which Rights Should Be Universal? (Oxford, 2005) and Human Rights and Human Well-Being (Oxford, forthcoming in 2010). He has published articles in moral and political philosophy, especially the philosophy of human rights, philosophy of law, epistemology, and rational choice theory.

Stew Tolnay
Professor, Department of Sociology
tolnay@u.washington.edu

Charles Williams
Assistant Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences, UW Tacoma Campus
charles1@u.washington.edu

Louis E. Wolcher
Charles I. Stone Professor of Law
University of Washington School of Law
wolcher@u.washington.edu

 


 

 

 

Center for Human Rights
University of Washington
Box 353650
Seattle, WA 98195
uwchr@uw.edu

Angelina Snodgrass Godoy
Helen H. Jackson Endowed Chair in Human Rights
Director, Center for Human Rights
agodoy@uw.edu

Gai-Hoai T. Nguyen
Assistant Director, Center for Human Rights
ghoaitn@uw.edu